Thrifty, busy, and moving forward

Hi friends!

Sorry it’s been so long. I have, of course, been super busy. I’ve been nannying or working late at the restaurant, so I feel like I haven’t had a chance to have much “me” time to blog, relax, sip tea (and wine)… And finally today I get to after a busy weekend! Thank goodness for a free evening – I just want to go to the gym, blog, watch a little TV, and go to bed early. Because I am an old woman.

This week has also been kind of crazy because *drumroll please* I have finally sorted out law school stuff! I am very happy to say that after careful consideration, I have decided to move forward and officially become a member of Boston University School of Law’s class of 2017! 

The decision makes sense for me, for a number of reasons. Staying on the waiting list was an uncertainty I couldn’t afford – I am not willing to sacrifice decent housing at a very slim set of chances. I want to start off my law school career with stability – no couch-surfing or juggling things last minute while I’m in that crucial first few weeks. Logically, BU Law makes sense. But emotionally, it also makes lots of sense. I don’t want to be in the middle of nowhere in Ithaca, and BU Law means I will be able to live with my girlfriend in an apartment in the city that many of my friends (from Wellesley and elsewhere) call home. And I am not far from my little brother and even parents!

So. obviously, this is exciting… But it also means that I have gone into full manic planning mode. And I love planning. But it is also my weakness.

1338499327756_3624136

But in the midst of setting up last-minute doctor’s appointments and contacting Boston realtors, I am so glad to come home to my teensy corner of the webiverse. It is so cathartic for me to write here and share the little things in my life that make me happy… And read those things that make others happy!

The past few weeks I’ve allowed myself little treats while working hard to save up for this next year. As you know, I am obsessed with bargains! Thrift is my gift 😉 *eyeroll at myself*

I signed up for the City Sports “Insider” program months ago, and it’s great because I get a little chunk of change back at the end of every period. This time around I bought myself some replacement straws for my Camelbak and some cute hairbands from Moving Comfort with the couple dollars off I got (because who likes wearing just the plain ugly elastics on their wrist? not me!).

How do you treat your self (it doesn’t have to involve retail!)?

Looks much nicer on my wrist when I'm trying to look nice but still have access to an emergency hair tie!

Looks much nicer on my wrist when I’m trying to look nice but still have access to an emergency hair tie!

I also couldn’t resist a Lululemon visit when I was in the area – I just can’t help myself from checking their “We Made Too Much” section (fancy way of saying “sale”).Found a 105 F singlet discounted in this bright pink color. Fun! The sales girls told me I could buy a size larger than I normally take (I’m a 6 at Lulu and there were only 10’s and one 8 left), so I did. It’s a bit looser than I’d like, but it works just fine. It is very light and breathable – necessary for a sweatball like me :3

Image via Lululemon.com

Image via Lululemon.com

I was able to put my new singlet to the test recently when I embarked on my longest-ever run yet this past Saturday! I was working until late at the restaurant, and didn’t come back home until well after midnight, dead tired and sore from being on my feet for 6+ hours. I wanted to run in the morning when it was cooler, but I was just too tired! I let myself have an easy morning, a little nap, and set out for my run around 11.

So it turns out that running around noon – the hottest part of the day – is not my favorite. Don’t advise it. Nope. Especially if you sweat like an out-of-shape 45-year-old man like me. Two miles in, I had to stop in the shade for a minute and desperately chug from the little bottles of my hydration belt. This was my face:

Arrested+Development+Gif+Dump+_9444fac1d0e639fd939f536affc5fcaf
Definitely wanted to skip this run altogether. Definitely wanted to turn around from that point and just run 4 miles. But wanted to finish what I started more. So I braved the New England humidity and hot summer sun and sweated out those 8 whole miles. At the end, I looked like I had taken a shower and then immediately put clothes on, but I was proud. My longest run ever! I took it slow and steady (especially with the heat/humidity), but still clocked in at just over 11’00” – not as bad as I thought! I’ve definitely got to give a shout out to the amazing volunteers on the East Bay bike path of Rhode Island – they had a free water station that saved me on those last two miles. I was super dehydrated despite the presence of my hydration belt – two 10 ounce bottles weren’t enough on a day like that!
2014-07-12 12.47.55

2014-07-12 12.47.50

2014-07-12 12.49.44A very busy, thrifty, productive, but victorious week indeed!

What did you accomplish this week? This weekend?

Peace, sweat and love,

G

 

Leave a Reply

